Road safety: driving while using a mobile phone: Government Response to the Committee’s Twelfth Report of Session 2017–19

Transport Committee

The Transport Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Transport and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Lilian Greenwood MP (Labour, Nottingham South) (Chair)

Jack Brereton MP (Conservative, Stoke-on-Trent South)

Ruth Cadbury MP (Labour, Brentford and Isleworth)

Robert Courts MP (Conservative, Witney)

Ronnie Cowan MP (Scottish National Party, Inverclyde)

Steve Double MP (Conservative, St Austell and Newquay)

Paul Girvan MP (Democratic Unionist Party, South Antrim)

Huw Merriman MP (Conservative, Bexhill and Battle)

Grahame Morris MP (Labour, Easington)

Graham Stringer MP (Labour, Blackley and Broughton)

Daniel Zeichner MP (Labour, Cambridge)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Deborah Courtney (Senior Committee Assistant), Estelle Currie (Senior Media Officer), Nerys Davies (Committee Specialist), Ed Faulkner (Second Clerk), Oliver Florence (Media Officer), Marek Kubala (Committee Clerk), Michelle Owens, (Committee Assistant), Lewis Pickett (Committee Specialist), and Robi Quigley (Second Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Transport Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3266; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsTrans

Published: 1 November 2019