Economic Crime: Consumer View Contents

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of HM Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies.


Mel Stride MP (Chair) (Conservative, Central Devon)

Rushanara Ali MP (Labour, Bethnal Green and Bow)

Mr Steve Baker MP (Conservative, Wycombe)

Colin Clark MP (Conservative, Gordon)

Mr Simon Clarke MP (Conservative, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland)

Charlie Elphicke MP (Independent, Dover)

Alison McGovern MP (Labour, Wirral South)

Catherine McKinnell MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne North)

Wes Streeting MP (Labour, Ilford North)

Alison Thewliss MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow Central)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Gail Bartlett (Second Clerk), Emily Buckland (on secondment from the Bank of England), Sarah Goodwin (on secondment from the Prudential Regulation Authority), Rachel Kift (on secondment from the National Audit Office), Dan Lee (Senior Economist), Gosia McBride (Clerk), Aruni Muthumala (Senior Economist), Matt Panteli (Senior Media and Policy Officer), Yasmin Raza (on secondment from the Financial Conduct Authority), Anne Stark (on secondment from HM Revenue & Customs), Baris Tufekci (Committee Support Assistant), Adam Wales (Chief Policy Adviser), Maciej Wenerski (Senior Committee Assistant), and Marcus Wilton (Senior Economist).

Published: 1 November 2019