Enforcing the Equality Act: the law and the role of the Equality and Human Rights Commission: Government and Equality and Human Rights Commission Responses to the Committee’s Tenth Report of Session 2017–19

Women and Equalities Committee

The Women and Equalities Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Government Equalities Office (GEO).

Current membership

Mrs Maria Miller MP (Conservative, Basingstoke) (Chair)

Tonia Antoniazzi MP (Labour, Gower)

Sarah Champion MP (Labour, Rotherham)

Angela Crawley MP (Scottish National Party, Lanark and Hamilton East)

Philip Davies MP (Conservative, Shipley)

Vicky Ford MP (Conservative, Chelmsford)

Eddie Hughes MP (Conservative, Walsall North)

Stephanie Peacock MP (Labour, Barnsley East)

Jess Phillips MP (Labour, Birmingham, Yardley)

Tulip Siddiq MP (Labour, Hampstead and Kilburn)

Anna Soubry MP (Change UK - The Independent Group, Broxtowe)

Kirstene Hair MP (Conservative, Angus)

Mr Gavin Shuker MP (Independent, Luton South) were members of the Committee during this inquiry


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/copyright.

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/womenandequalities and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Jyoti Chandola (Clerk), Ellie Goodchild (Senior Committee Assistant), Radhika Handa (Second Clerk), Tansy Hutchinson, Shai Jacobs, Mariam Keating (Committee Specialists), Liz Parratt (Media Officer), and Mandy Sullivan (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Women and Equalities Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6123; the Committee’s email address is womeqcom@parliament.uk.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @Commonswomequ.

Published: 25 October 2019