The Armed Forces Bill Contents

Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill

The Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill was appointed by an Order of the House of Commons to consider the Armed Forces Bill.


James Sunderland (Conservative, Bracknell) (Chair)

Stuart Anderson (Conservative, Wolverhampton South West)

Tonia Antoniazzi (Labour, Gower)

Dan Carden (Labour, Liverpool, Walton)

Miss Sarah Dines (Conservative, Derbyshire Dales)

Leo Docherty (Conservative, Aldershot)

Martin Docherty-Hughes (Scottish National Party, West Dunbartonshire)

Darren Henry (Conservative, Broxtowe)

Mrs Sharon Hodgson (Labour, Washington and Sunderland West)

Mr Richard Holden (Conservative, North West Durham)

Rt Hon Kevan Jones (Labour, North Durham)

Jack Lopresti (Conservative, Filton and Bradley Stoke)

Johnny Mercer (Conservative, Plymouth, Moor View)

Carol Monaghan (Scottish National Party, Glasgow North West)

Stephen Morgan (Labour, Portsmouth South)

Mrs Heather Wheeler (Conservative, South Derbyshire)


Extract from the Votes and Proceedings, 8 February 2021:

“Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill,—Ordered, That the following provisions shall apply to the Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill:

(1) The Committee shall have 16 members, to be nominated by the Committee of Selection.

(2) The Committee shall have power—

(a) to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place and to report from day to day the minutes of evidence taken before it;

(b) to admit the public during the examination of witnesses and during consideration of the Bill (but not otherwise) ; and

(c) to appoint specialist advisers either to supply information not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity relating to the provisions of the Bill.

(3) The order of the House of 24 March 2020 (Select Committees (Participation and Reporting) (Temporary Order)) shall apply to the Committee as if it had the power to report from time to time.”


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

Matthew Congreve (Clerk), Zoe Hays (Committee Specialist), Abbi Hobbs (Social Science Lead), Joseph Robins (Data Visualisation and Statistics Lead), Sascha Sajjad (Committee Operations Manager), Yohanna Sallberg (Public Bill Office Clerk) and Ian Thomson (Committee Specialist).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6595; the Committee’s email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Toni McAndrew-Noon on 075 6243 5286.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @ArmedForcesBill.

Published: 22 April 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement