Net Zero and UN Climate Summits: Scrutiny of Preparations for COP26 – interim report Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Thursday 02 July 2020

Jim Watson, Expert Lead, Climate Assembly UK, Professor of Energy Policy, University College London; Sarah Allan, Head of Engagement, Involve Q1–14

The Rt Hon. the Lord Deben, Chair, Committee on Climate Change; The Baroness Brown of Cambridge DBE FREng FRS, Deputy Chair, Committee on Climate Change; Mike Thompson, Director of Analysis, Committee on Climate ChangeQ15–48

James Diggle, Head of Energy and Climate Change, Confederation of British Industry (CBI); Eliot Whittington, Director, Prince of Wales Corporate Leaders Group; Andrew Large, Chair, Energy Intensive Users Group; Jim Skea, Chair, Just Transition CommissionQ49–68

Tuesday 01 December 2020

Claire O’Neill, Managing Director, Climate & Energy, World Business Council for Sustainable DevelopmentQ69–96

Pete Betts, Associate Fellow, Chatham House, Professor of Practise, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, LSE; Farhana Yamin, Chief Executive Officer, Track 0, Vice-Chair, Climate Vulnerable Forum Expert Advisory Group, Senior Advisor, SYSTEMIQ; Dr Emily Shuckburgh OBE, Director, Cambridge Zero, University of Cambridge, Reader of Environmental Data Science, University of Cambridge; Dr Jennifer Allan, Lecturer in International Relations, University of CardiffQ97–135

Tuesday 12 January 2021

Chris Stark, Chief Executive Officer, Committee on Climate Change; Emma Pinchbeck, Chief Executive Officer, Energy UK; Nina Skorupska CBE, Chief Executive, The Association for Renewable Energy and Clean Technology; Sam French, Interim Chair, Decarbonised Gas AllianceQ136–164

Richard Leese, Director, Mineral Products Association; Frank Aaskov, Energy and Climate Change Policy Manager, UK Steel; Richard Woolley, Head of Energy and Climate Change, Chemical Industries Association; Deirdre Michie OBE, Chief Executive, Oil and Gas UKQ165–184

Tuesday 19 January 2021

Rt Hon Alok Sharma MP, COP 26 President, Cabinet Office; Peter Hill, COP 26 Chief Executive Officer, Cabinet Office; Ros Eales, COP26 Chief Operating Officer, Cabinet Office; Archie Young, COP26 UK Lead Climate Negotiator, Cabinet OfficeQ185–217

Rt Hon Kwasi Kwarteng MP, Secretary of State, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy; Joanna Whittington, Director General, Energy and Security, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy; Jo Shanmugalingam, Director General, Industrial Strategy, Science & Innovation, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy; Ashley Ibbett, Director General, Trade, Europe and Analysis, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial StrategyQ218–257

Published: 5 March 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement