My BEIS inquiry: proposals from the public Contents

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee

The Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Current membership

Darren Jones MP (Labour, Bristol North West) (Chair)

Alan Brown MP (Scottish National Party, Kilmarnock and Loudoun)

Judith Cummins MP (Labour, Bradford South)

Richard Fuller MP (Conservative, North East Bedfordshire)

Ms Nusrat Ghani MP (Conservative, Wealdon)

Paul Howell MP (Conservative, Sedgefield)

Mark Jenkinson MP (Conservative, Workington)

Ruth Jones MP (Labour, Newport West)

Charlotte Nichols MP (Labour, Warrington North)

Mark Pawsey MP (Conservative, Rugby)

Alexander Stafford MP (Conservative, Rother Valley)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dawn Amey (Senior Committee Assistant), Clementine Brown (Second Clerk), Gary Calder (Media Officer), Ian Cruse (Committee Specialist), Rebecca Davies (Clerk), Matthew Eaton (Committee Assistant), Becky Mawhood and Ashleigh Morris (Committee Specialists).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5777; the Committee’s email address is

Published: 10 July 2020