Misinformation in the COVID-19 Infodemic: Government Response to the Committee’s Second Report

The Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee

The Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Julian Knight MP (Conservative, Solihull) (Chair)

Kevin Brennan MP (Labour, Cardiff West)

Steve Brine MP (Conservative, Winchester)

Philip Davies MP (Conservative, Shipley)

Alex Davies-Jones MP (Labour, Pontypridd)

Clive Efford MP (Labour, Eltham)

Julie Elliott MP (Labour, Sunderland Central)

Damian Green MP (Conservative, Ashford)

Damian Hinds MP (Conservative, East Hampshire)

John Nicolson MP (Scottish National Party, Ochil and South Perthshire)

Giles Watling MP (Conservative, Clacton)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/.

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/dcmscom and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Kate Anderson (Second Clerk), Keely Bishop (Committee Operations Assistant), Andy Boyd (Committee Operations Manager), Conor Durham (Committee Specialist), Lois Jeary (Committee Specialist), Stephen McGinness (Clerk), Charlotte Swift (Second Clerk), Anne Peacock (Senior Media and Communications Officer) and Gina Degtyareva (Media and Communications Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6188; the Committee’s email address is cmscom@parliament.uk.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsDCMS.

Published: 14 October 2020