Pre-appointment hearing for the Chair-Designate of the Office for Environmental Protection (OEP) Contents

Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty’s Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

Current membership

Rt Hon Philip Dunne MP (Conservative, Ludlow) (Chair)

Duncan Baker MP (Conservative, North Norfolk)

Sir Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Feryal Clark MP (Labour, Enfield North)

Barry Gardiner MP (Labour, Brent North)

Rt Hon Robert Goodwill MP (Conservative, Scarborough and Whitby)

Ian Levy MP (Conservative, Blyth Valley)

Marco Longhi MP (Conservative, Dudley North)

Caroline Lucas MP (Green Party, Brighton, Pavilion)

Cherilyn Mackrory MP (Conservative, Truro and Falmouth)

Jerome Mayhew MP (Conservative, Broadland)

John McNally MP (Scottish National Party, Falkirk)

Dr Matthew Offord MP (Conservative, Hendon)

Alex Sobel MP (Labour (Co-op), Leeds North West)

Claudia Webbe MP (Independent, Leicester East)

Nadia Whittome MP (Labour, Nottingham East)


The constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152A. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

Andrew Bax (Committee Specialist), Medha Bhasin (Second Clerk), James Camp (Committee Operations Officer), Jon Davies (Committee Researcher), Nick Davies (Committee Specialist), Laura Grant (Committee Specialist), Lloyd Owen (Clerk), Jonathan Wright (Committee Operations Manager).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environmental Audit Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8890; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsEAC.

Published: 18 December 2020 Site information    Accessibility statement