An Update on Rural Connectivity: Government Response to the Committee’s Seventeenth Report of Session 2017–19

The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee

The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Neil Parish MP (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton) (Chair)

Geraint Davies MP (Labour (Co-op) Swansea West)

Dave Doogan MP (Scottish National Party, Angus)

Rosie Duffield MP (Labour, Canterbury)

Mary Glindon MP (Labour, North Tyneside)

Dr Neil Hudson MP (Conservative, Penrith and The Border)

Robbie Moore MP (Conservative, Keighley)

Mrs Sheryll Murray MP (Conservative, South East Cornwall)

Toby Perkins MP (Labour, Chesterfield)

Julian Sturdy MP (Conservative, York Outer)

Derek Thomas MP (Conservative, St Ives)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

Ross Anderson (Placement Student), Ian Blair (Committee Assistant), Ian Bradshaw (Committee Clerk), Jonathan Finlay (Committee Specialist), Andy French (Committee Specialist), Beth Goodwin (Senior Committee Assistant), Tim Jarrett (Second Clerk), Xameerah Malik (Senior Committee Specialist), Emily Pritchard (Media Officer), Annabel Russell (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1119; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsEFRA.

Published: 16 March 2020