Twelfth Report of Session 2019–21 Contents

European Statutory Instruments Committee

The European Statutory Instruments Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine and report on:

(a) any of the following documents laid before the House of Commons in accordance with paragraph 3(3)(b) or 17(3)(b) of Schedule 7 to the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018—

(i) a draft of an instrument; and

(ii) a memorandum setting out both a statement made by a Minister of the Crown to the effect that in the Minister’s opinion the instrument should be subject to annulment in pursuance of a resolution of either House of Parliament (the negative procedure) and the reasons for that opinion, and

(b) any matter arising from its consideration of such documents.

Current membership

Andrew Jones MP (Conservative, Harrogate and Knaresborough) (Chair)

Kirsty Blackman MP (Scottish National Party, Aberdeen North)

Geraint Davies MP (Labour, Swansea West)

Mrs Flick Drummond MP (Conservative, Meon Valley)

Rt Hon Mr Philip Dunne MP (Conservative, Ludlow)

Rt Hon Sir David Evennett MP (Conservative, Bexleyheath and Crayford)

James Grundy MP (Conservative, Leigh)

Mr Richard Holden (Conservative, North West Durham)

Stephen Kinnock MP (Labour, Aberavon)

Charlotte Nichols MP (Labour, Warrington North)

Mary Robinson MP (Conservative, Cheadle)

Jo Stevens MP (Labour, Cardiff Central)

Owen Thompson MP (Scottish National Party, Midlothian)

Liz Twist MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Craig Williams MP (Conservative, Montgomeryshire)

Jacob Young MP (Conservative, Redcar)


The Committee’s powers are set out under a temporary Standing Order of 3 February 2020.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

The reports of the Committee are published in print by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee are available on the Internet from the committee website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Elektra Garvie-Adams (Second Clerk), Sue Beeby and Apostolos Kostoulas (Committee Assistants), and Luanne Middleton (Clerk). Advisory Counsel: Sarita Arthur-Crowe, Klara Banaszak, Daniel Greenberg and Vanessa MacNair.

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Statutory Instruments Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 7599; the Committee’s email address is:

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsESIC.

Published: 19 November 2020 Site information    Accessibility statement