Implementing the Withdrawal Agreement: citizens’ rights Contents

Committee on the Future Relationship with the European Union

The Committee on the Future Relationship with the European Union is appointed by the House of Commons to examine matters relating to the negotiations on the future relationship with the European Union.

Current membership

Hilary Benn MP (Labour, Leeds Central) (Chair)

Lee Anderson MP (Conservative, Ashfield)

Mr Peter Bone MP (Conservative, Wellingborough)

Joanna Cherry QC MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh South West)

Sir Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Mark Eastwood MP (Conservative, Dewsbury)

Florence Eshalomi MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Sally-Ann Hart MP (Conservative, Hastings and Rye)

Antony Higginbotham MP (Conservative, Burnley)

Dr Rupa Huq MP (Labour, Ealing Central and Acton)

Stephen Kinnock MP (Labour, Aberavon)

Seema Malhotra MP (Labour, Feltham and Heston)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Nicola Richards MP (Conservative, West Bromwich East)

Gary Sambrook MP (Conservative, Birmingham, Northfield)

Mr Barry Sheerman MP (Labour, Huddersfield)

Jane Stevenson MP (Conservative, Wolverhampton North East)

Wes Streeting MP (Labour, Ilford North)

Matt Vickers MP (Conservative, Stockton South)

Dr Jamie Wallis MP (Conservative, Bridgend)

Dr Philippa Whitford MP (Scottish National Party, Central Ayrshire)

The following Members are former members of the Committee:

Mark Fletcher MP (Conservative, Bolsover); Matthew Pennycook MP (Greenwich and Woolwich)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally under a Temporary Standing Order of 16 January 2020 (amended on 2 March 2020). These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Jonathan Arkless (Committee Specialist), Henry Ayi-Hyde (Committee Operations Officer), Gordon Clarke (Committee Clerk), Mark Earl and Hannah Finer (Committee Operations Managers), Dr Ariella Huff (Senior Committee Specialist), Duma Langton and Julian Mazowiecki (Committee Specialists), Fraser McIntosh (Specialist Assistant), Zac Mead (Second Clerk) and Ben Shave (Media and Communications Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committee on the Future Relationship with the European Union, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 7568; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on on Twitter using @CommonsFREU

Published: 20 October 2020