Home Office preparedness for COVID-19 (coronavirus): management of the borders Contents

Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Yvette Cooper MP (Labour, Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford) Chair

Rt Hon Diane Abbott MP (Labour, Hackney North and Stoke Newington)

Dehenna Davison MP (Conservative, Bishop Auckland)

Ruth Edwards MP (Conservative, Rushcliffe)

Laura Farris MP (Conservative, Newbury)

Simon Fell MP (Conservative, Barrow and Furness)

Andrew Gwynne MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish)

Adam Holloway MP (Conservative, Gravesham)

Dame Diana Johnson MP (Kingston upon Hull North)

Tim Loughton MP (Conservative, East Worthing and Shoreham)

Stuart C. McDonald MP (Scottish National Party, Cumbernauld, Kilsyth

and Kirkintilloch East)

The following Members were also Members of the Committee:

Janet Daby MP (Labour, Lewisham East); Stephen Doughty MP (Labour (Co-op) Cardiff South and Penarth); Holly Lynch MP (Labour, Halifax)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/copyright.

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/homeaffairscom and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Simon Armitage (Committee Specialist), Melissa Bailey (Committee Assistant), Chris Battersby (Committee Specialist), Chloe Cockett (Senior Specialist), Elizabeth Hunt (Clerk), Penny McLean (Committee Specialist), George Perry (Senior Media and Communications Officer), Paul Simpkin (Senior Committee Assistant) and Dominic Stockbridge (Assistant Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6856; the Committee’s email address is homeaffcom@parliament.uk.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsHomeAffs.

Published: 5 August 2020