Covid-19 in developing countries: secondary impacts: Government Response to the Eighth Report of the Committee, Session 2019–21

The International Development Committee

The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Development and its associated public bodies.

On 1 September 2020, DFID and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office were merged to form the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO). The Committee remains responsible for scrutiny of those parts of FCDO expenditure, administration and policy that were formerly the responsibility of DFID.

Current membership

Sarah Champion MP (Labour, Rotherham) (Chair)

Richard Bacon MP (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Theo Clarke MP (Conservative, Stafford)

Brendan Clarke-Smith MP (Conservative, Bassetlaw)

Pauline Latham MP (Conservative, Mid Derbyshire)

Chris Law MP (Scottish National Party, Dundee West)

Ian Liddell-Grainger MP (Conservative, Bridgwater and West Somerset)

Navendu Mishra MP (Labour, Stockport)

Kate Osamor MP (Labour (co-op), Edmonton)

Dr Dan Poulter MP (Conservative, Central Suffolk and North Ipswich)

Virendra Sharma MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Grace Annan (Committee Specialist), Philip Aylett (Second Clerk), Gordon Clarke (Clerk), John-Paul Flaherty (Second Clerk), Paul Hampson (Committee Operations Officer), Chloe Jago (Senior Media and Communications Officer), Rowena Macdonald (Committee Operations Officer), Emma Makey (Senior Committee Specialist), Leo Oliveira (Committee Operations Manager), Alison Pickard (Committee Specialist), Jack Tennant (Assistant Inquiry Manager–Apprentice).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the International Development Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1223; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsIDC.

Published: 26 April 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement