The COVID-19 pandemic and international trade Contents

The International Trade Committee

The International Trade Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for International Trade and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Angus Brendan MacNeil MP (Scottish National Party, Na h-Eileanan an Iar) (Chair)

Robert Courts MP (Conservative, Witney)

Mark Garnier MP (Conservative, Wyre Forest)

Paul Girvan MP (DUP, South Antrim)

Sir Mark Hendrick MP (Labour, Preston)

Mark Menzies MP (Conservative, Fylde)

Taiwo Owatemi MP (Labour, Coventry North West)

Martin Vickers MP (Conservative, Cleethorpes)

Matt Western MP (Labour, Warwick and Leamington)

Mick Whitley MP (Labour, Birkenhead)

Craig Williams MP (Conservative, Montgomeryshire)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Hannah Barlow (Committee Assistant), Matthew Chappell (Senior Committee Assistant), Ruth Cahir (Committee Specialist), Ben Shave (Media Officer), Professor Tony Heron (POST Parliamentary Academic Fellow), David Turner (Committee Specialist), Emily Unell (Second Clerk), Joanna Welham (Clerk) and Jesse Williams (Assistant Committee Specialist).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the International Trade Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8586; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsIntTrade.

Published: 29 July 2020