Court and Tribunal Reforms: Government Response to the Committee’s Second Report of Session 2019

Justice Committee

The Justice Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Ministry of Justice and its associated public bodies (including the work of staff provided for the administrative work of courts and tribunals, but excluding consideration of individual cases and appointments, and excluding the work of the Scotland and Wales Offices and of the Advocate General for Scotland); and administration and expenditure of the Attorney General’s Office, the Treasury Solicitor’s Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office (but excluding individual cases and appointments and advice given within government by Law Officers).

Current membership

Robert Neill MP (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst) (Chair)

Rob Butler MP (Conservative, Aylesbury)

James Daly MP (Conservative. Bury North)

Sarah Dines MP (Conservative, Derbyshire Dales)

Maria Eagle MP (Labour, Garston and Halewood)

John Howell MP (Conservative, Henley)

Kenny MacAskill MP (Scottish National Party, East Lothian)

Kieran Mullan MP (Conservative, Crewe and Nantwich)

Ellie Reeves MP (Labour, Lewisham West and Penge)

Marie Rimmer MP (Labour, St Helens South and Whiston)

Andy Slaughter MP (Labour, Hammersmith)


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Nony Ardill (Legal Specialist), Seb Newman (Second Clerk), Su Panchanathan (Committee Assistant), Liz Parratt (Committee Media Officer), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), Holly Tremain (Committee Specialist), and David Weir (Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Justice Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8196; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsJustice.

Published: 16 March 2020