The impact of Covid-19 on university students Contents

Petitions Committee

The Petitions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider e-petitions submitted on and public (paper) petitions presented to the House of Commons.

Current membership

Catherine McKinnell MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne North) (Chair)

Tonia Antoniazzi MP (Labour, Gower)

Elliot Colburn MP (Conservative, Carshalton and Wallington)

Martyn Day MP (Scottish National Party, Linlithgow and East Falkirk)

Steve Double MP (Conservative, St Austell and Newquay)

Chris Evans MP (Labour, Islywn)

Katherine Fletcher MP (Conservative, South Ribble)

Nick Fletcher MP (Conservative, Don Valley)

Mike Hill MP (Labour, Hartlepool)

Tom Hunt MP (Conservative, Ipswich)

Theresa Villiers MP (Conservative, Chipping Barnet)

Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour, Bristol East) was also a member of the Committee during this inquiry.


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 145A. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Paul Connolly (Media Relations Officer), Ed Faulkner (Second Clerk), Stella-Maria Gabriel (Senior Committee Assistant), Kay Gammie (Enquiries and Engagement Assistant), Zoe Hays (Petitions and Engagement Officer), Emma McIntosh (Head of Petitions Engagement), Hannah Olbison (Senior Media Relations Officer), Shane Pathmanathan (Petitions Moderation Officer), Ben Sneddon (Clerk), and Stephen Wilson (Petitions and Communication Manager).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Petitions Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4887; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @HoCpetitions

Published: 13 July 2020