Fifth Special Report of Session 2019–21: Back to the future? Procedure after coronavirus restrictions: Government Response to the Committee’s Eighth Report

Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the practice and procedure of the House in the conduct of public business, and to make recommendations.

Current membership

Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP (Conservative, Staffordshire Moorlands) (Chair)

Aaron Bell MP (Conservative, Newcastle-under-Lyme)

Kirsty Blackman MP (Scottish National Party, Aberdeen North)

Jack Brereton MP (Conservative, Stoke-on-Trent South)

Bambos Charalambous MP (Labour, Enfield, Southgate)

Sir Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Dame Angela Eagle MP (Labour, Wallasey)

Chris Elmore MP (Labour, Ogmore)

James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Rt Hon Kevan Jones MP (Labour, North Durham)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Douglas Ross MP (Conservative, Moray)

James Sunderland MP (Conservative, Bracknell)

Owen Thompson MP (Scottish National Party, Midlothian)

Liz Twist MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Suzanne Webb MP (Conservative, Stourbridge)

Mr William Wragg MP (Conservative, Hazel Grove)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 147. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Zoë Backhouse (Second Clerk), Paul Connolly (Media Relations Manager), Jim Lawford (Committee Operations Officer), Hannah Olbison (Senior Media Relations Officer) and Richard Ward (Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Procedure Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3351; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsProcCom

Published: 4 May 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement