Procedure under coronavirus restrictions: proposals for remote participation Contents

Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the practice and procedure of the House in the conduct of public business, and to make recommendations.

Current membership

Karen Bradley MP (Conservative, Staffordshire Moorlands) (Chair)

Kirsty Blackman MP (Scottish National Party, Aberdeen North)

Jack Brereton MP (Conservative, Stoke-on-Trent South)

Bambos Charalambous MP (Labour, Enfield, Southgate)

Sir Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Chris Elmore MP (Labour, Ogmore)

Andrew Griffith MP (Conservative, Arundel and South Downs)

Kate Hollern MP (Labour, Blackburn)

Anthony Mangnall MP (Conservative, Totnes)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Alex Norris MP (Labour Nottingham North)

Rob Roberts MP (Conservative, Delyn)

Gary Sambrook MP (Conservative, Birmingham, Northfield)

James Sunderland MP (Conservative, Bracknell)

Owen Thompson MP (Scottish National Party, Midlothian)

Liz Twist MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Suzanne Webb MP (Conservative, Stourbridge)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 147. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Martyn Atkins (Clerk), Masrur Ahmed (Second Clerk), Jim Lawford and Amira Shariif Ali (Committee Assistants) and Paul Connolly (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Procedure Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3351; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsProcCom

Published: 21 April 2020