Progress in remediating dangerous cladding Contents

The Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to examine “the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit” (Standing Order No. 148).

Current membership

Meg Hillier MP (Labour (Co-op), Hackney South and Shoreditch) (Chair)

Mr Gareth Bacon MP (Conservative, Orpington)

Kemi Badenoch MP (Conservative, Saffron Walden)

Olivia Blake MP (Labour, Sheffield, Hallam)

Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP (Conservative, The Cotswolds)

Dame Cheryl Gillan MP (Conservative, Chesham and Amersham)

Peter Grant MP (Scottish National Party, Glenrothes)

Mr Richard Holden MP (Conservative, North West Durham)

Sir Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex)

Craig Mackinlay MP (Conservative, Thanet)

Shabana Mahmood MP (Labour, Birmingham, Ladywood)

Gagan Mohindra MP (Conservative, South West Hertfordshire)

Sarah Olney MP (Liberal Democrat, Richmond Park)

Bridget Phillipson MP (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

Nick Smith MP (Labour, Blaenau Gwent)

James Wild MP (Conservative, North West Norfolk)


Powers of the Committee of Public Accounts are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 148. These are available on the Internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Bradley Albrow (Second Clerk), Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Media Officer), Ameet Chudasama (Committee Operations Manager), Richard Cooke (Clerk), Shai Jacobs (Chair Liaison) and Rose Leach (Committee Operations Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committee of Public Accounts, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5776; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsPAC.

Published: 16 September 2020