Parliamentary Scrutiny of the Government’s handling of Covid-19 Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 16 June 2020

Raphael Hogarth, Associate at Institute for Government; Dr Ronan Cormacain, Senior Research Fellow, Bingham Centre for the Rule of Law, British Institute of International and Comparative Law; Professor Aileen McHarg, Professor of Public Law and Human Rights, Durham Law School


Tuesday 23 June 2020

Michael Russell MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Constitution, Europe and External Affairs, Scottish Parliament; Jeremy Miles MS, Counsel General for Wales and Minister for European Transition, Welsh Government; Gordon Lyons MLA, Junior Minister, the Executive Office, Northern Ireland Assembly


Tuesday 14 July 2020

Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP, Paymaster General, Cabinet Office; Edward Argar MP, Minister of State, Department of Health and Social Care; Katherine Hammond, Head of the Civil Contingencies Secretariat, Cabinet Office; Clara Swinson, Director General, Global and Public Health, Department of Health and Social Care


Thursday 23 July 2020

Emma Norris, Director of Research, Institute for Government; Dr Alistair Stark, School of Political Science and International Studies, University of Queensland; Jason Beer QC, Specialist in public inquiries, inquests, police law, and regulatory law


Dame Una O’Brien DCB, Former Permanent Secretary for Health and Panel Member of Renewable Heat Incentive Inquiry; Sir Robert Francis, Chair, Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust Public Inquiry; Lord Butler of Brockwell, Chair, Review of Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction; Baroness Prashar, Committee member, Iran Inquiry


Published: 10 September 2020