IT failures in the financial services sector: Government and Regulators Responses to the Committee’s Second Report of Session 2019

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of HM Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Mel Stride MP (Chair) (Conservative, Central Devon)

Rushanara Ali MP (Labour, Bethnal Green and Bow)

Mr Steve Baker MP (Conservative, Wycombe)

Harriett Baldwin MP (Conservative, West Worcestershire)

Anthony Browne MP (Conservative, South Cambridgeshire)

Felicity Buchan MP (Conservative, Kensington)

Ms Angela Eagle MP (Labour, Wallasey)

Liz Kendall MP (Labour, Leicester West)

Julie Marson MP (Conservative, Hertford and Stortford)

Alison McGovern MP (Labour, Wirral South)

Alison Thewliss MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow Central)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Emily Buckland (on secondment from the Bank of England), John-Paul Flaherty (Second Clerk), Sarah Goodwin (on secondment from the Prudential Regulation Authority), Rachel Kift (on secondment from the National Audit Office), Dan Lee (Senior Economist), Gosia McBride (Clerk), Aruni Muthumala (Senior Economist), Matt Panteli (Senior Media and Policy Officer), Yasmin Raza (on secondment from the Financial Conduct Authority), Baris Tufekci (Committee Support Assistant), Adam Wales (Chief Policy Adviser), Maciej Wenerski (Senior Committee Assistant), Marcus Wilton (Senior Economist), and Tony Verran (on secondment from HM Revenue & Customs).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Treasury Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5769; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @commonstreasury.

Published: 12 March 2020