Tax after coronavirus Contents

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of HM Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Mel Stride MP (Chair) (Conservative, Central Devon)

Rushanara Ali MP (Labour, Bethnal Green and Bow)

Steve Baker MP (Conservative, Wycombe)

Harriett Baldwin MP (Conservative, West Worcestershire)

Anthony Browne MP (Conservative, South Cambridgeshire)

Felicity Buchan MP (Conservative, Kensington)

Dame Angela Eagle MP (Labour, Wallasey)

Mike Hill MP (Labour, Hartlepool)

Julie Marson MP (Conservative, Hertford and Stortford)

Siobhain McDonagh MP (Labour, Mitcham and Morden)

Alison Thewliss MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow Central)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Jack Dent (Second Clerk), Rachel Edwards (on secondment from the Bank of England), John-Paul Flaherty (Second Clerk), Kenneth Fox (Clerk), Peter Kitson (on secondment from the National Audit Office), Dan Lee (Senior Economist), Cat Melvin (on secondment from the Financial Conduct Authority), Aruni Muthumala (Senior Economist), Moyo Oyelade (on secondment from the Bank of England), Matt Panteli (Senior Media and Policy Officer), Baris Tufekci (Committee Operations Officer), Tony Verran (on secondment from HM Revenue & Customs), Adam Wales (Chief Policy Adviser), Maciej Wenerski (Committee Operations Manager), Jesse Williams (Committee Operations Officer),and Marcus Wilton (Senior Economist).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Treasury Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5769; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @commonstreasury.

Published: 1 March 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement