Tax after coronavirus Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 1 September 2020

Paul Johnson, Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies; Dr Gemma Tetlow, Chief Economist, Institute for Government;
Mike Brewer, Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Economist, Resolution Foundation; Professor Philip Booth,
Senior Academic Fellow, Institute of Economic AffairsQ1–70

[There are no questions 60 to 70. Questions at the next session in this inquiry, on 15 September 2020, begin with Q 71.]

Tuesday 15 September 2020

John Cullinane, Tax Policy Director, Chartered Institute of Taxation; Charlotte Barbour, Director of Taxation, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland; Anita Monteith, Senior Policy Advisor, Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and WalesQ71–142

Wednesday 7 October 2020

Richard Hughes, Chair, Office for Budget Responsibility; Andy King, Member, Budget Responsibility Committee;
Professor Sir Charles Bean
, Member, Budget Responsibility Committee, Office for Budget ResponsibilityQ143–168

Stuart Adam, Senior Research Economist, Institute for Fiscal Studies; Alan McLintock, Chair, Indirect Taxes Committee,
Chartered Institute of Taxation; Charles Seaford, Senior Fellow, DemosQ169–204

Tuesday 20 October 2020

Professor Judith Freedman CBE, Professor of Taxation Law and Policy, Faculty of Law, University of Oxford;
Bill Dodwell
, Tax Director, Office of Tax Simplification; Derek Cribb, Interim CEO, Association of Independent Professionals
& the Self-Employed (IPSE); Andrew Titchener, Head of Tax Policy, Confederation of British Industry (CBI)Q205–274

Wednesday 18 November 2020

Arun Advani, Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, University of Warwick; Emma Chamberlain OBE, Barrister,
Pump Court Tax Chambers; Robert Palmer, Executive Director, Tax Justice UK; Tim Worstall, Senior Fellow, Adam Smith Institute;
Sir Edward Troup
, Former First Permanent Secretary, HM Revenue and CustomsQ275–353

Wednesday 16 December 2020

Chris Sanger, Global Government leader and Chair of the Tax Professionals Forum, Ernst and Young; Alex Cobham, CEO,
Tax Justice Network; Tom Clougherty, Head of Tax, Centre for Policy Studies; Annie Gascoyne, Director of Economic Policy,
Confederation of British Industry (CBI)Q354–431

Monday 18 January 2021

Rt Hon Jesse Norman MP, Financial Secretary to the Treasury, HM Treasury; Beth Russell, Director General, Tax and Welfare,
HM Treasury; Mike Williams, Director Business and International Tax, HM TreasuryQ432–520

Published: 1 March 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement