Economics of music streaming Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 24 November 2020

Tom Frederikse, Partner, Clintons Solicitors; Tom Gray, Founder, #BrokenRecord Campaign, and vocalist, guitarist and songwriter, Gomez; Colin Young, streaming auditor and accountant, CC Young & CoQ1–69

Guy Garvey, Singer and songwriter, Elbow, and BBC 6 Music presenter; Ed O’Brien, Guitarist, Radiohead, songwriter, singer and musician; Nadine Shah, Singer, songwriter and musicianQ70–110

Tuesday 8 December 2020

Maria Forte, Managing Director, Maria Forte Music Services Ltd; Kwame Kwaten, Manager, record producer and owner, Ferocious Talent; José Luis Sevillano, Director General, Artistas Intérpretes o Ejecutantes, Entidad de Gestión de Derechos de Propiedad Intelectual (AIE)Q111–164

Fiona Bevan, Singer and songwriter; Soweto Kinch, Jazz alto-saxophonist and rapper; Nile Rodgers, Songwriter, producer and artistQ165–202

Tuesday 19 January 2021

Peter Leathem, Chief Executive, Phonographic Performance Ltd; Andrea Martin, Chief Executive, PRS for MusicQ203–237

Tony Harlow, Chief Executive, Warner Music UK; Jason Iley, Chairman and Chief Executive, Sony Music UK & Ireland; David Joseph, Chairman and Chief Executive, Universal Music UK & IrelandQ238–330

Thursday 4 February 2021

Yvette Griffith, Co-Chief Executive and Executive Director, Jazz Re:freshed; Paul Pacifico, Chief Executive, Association of Independent Music; Rupert Skellett, General Counsel, Beggars GroupQ331–416

Wednesday 10 February 2021

Roberto Neri, Chair, Music Publishers Association; Geoff Taylor, Chief Executive, BPIQ417–489

Graham Davies, Chief Executive, Ivors Academy; Horace Trubridge, General Secretary, Musicians’ UnionQ490–527

Steve Bené, General Counsel, Twitch; Raoul Chatterjee, Vice President for Content Partnerships, Soundcloud; Katherine Oyama, Director, Government Affairs & Public Policy, YouTubeQ528–579

Tuesday 23 February 2021

Paul Firth, Director of International Music, Amazon; Horacio Gutierrez, Head of Global Affairs and Chief Legal Officer, Spotify; Elena Segal, Global Senior Director of Music Publishing, Apple IncQ580–709

Monday 22 March 2021

Caroline Dinenage MP, Minister for Digital and Culture, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport; Amanda Solloway MP, Minister for Science, Research and Innovation, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy; Robert Specterman-Green, Director of Media and Creative Industries, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport; Tim Moss, Chief Executive, Intellectual Property OfficeQ710–787

Published: 15 July 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement