The forgotten: how White working-class pupils have been let down, and how to change it Contents

The Education Committee

The Education Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Education and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Robert Halfon MP (Conservative, Harlow) (Chair)

Fleur Anderson MP (Labour, Putney)

Apsana Begum MP (Labour, Poplar and Limehouse)

Jonathan Gullis MP (Conservative, Stoke-on-Trent North)

Tom Hunt MP (Conservative, Ipswich)

Dr Caroline Johnson MP (Conservative, Sleaford and North Hykeham)

Kim Johnson MP (Labour, Liverpool, Riverside)

David Johnston MP (Conservative, Wantage)

Ian Mearns MP (Labour, Gateshead)

David Simmonds MP (Conservative, Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner)

Christian Wakeford MP (Conservative, Bury South)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Kevin Candy (Second Clerk), Vanessa Donhowe (Committee Specialist), Dr Mike Everett (Clerk), Oliver Florence (Senior Media Officer), Rosemary Hill (Committee Specialist), Nelson Idama (Media Officer), Robert McQuade (Committee Operations Manager), Rebecca Owen-Evans (Committee Specialist), Steiner Teixido-Oroza (Committee Operations Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2370; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsEd.

Published: 22 June 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement