The forgotten: how White working-class pupils have been let down, and how to change it Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 13 October 2020

Professor Lee Elliot Major, Professor of Social Mobility, University of Exeter; Professor Matthew Goodwin, Professor of Politics and International Relations, University of Kent; Professor Diane Reay, Emeritus Professor of Education, University of CambridgeQ1–34

Mary Curnock Cook OBE; Professor Becky Francis, Chief Executive, Education Endowment Foundation; Dr Sam Baars, Director of Research and Operations, The Centre for Education and YouthQ35–73

Tuesday 03 November 2020

Henri Murison, Director, Northern Powerhouse Partnership; Sammy Wright, Social Mobility Commissioner, Social Mobility Commission; Dr Alex Gibson, Senior Research Fellow, University of PlymouthQ74–117

Liz Bayram, Chief Executive, Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years (PACEY); Jonathan Douglas, Chief Executive, National Literacy Trust; Ed Vainker, Chief Executive Officer, Reach AcademyQ118–156

Tuesday 17 November 2020

Helena Mills CBE, Chief Executive Officer, BMAT Education; Nick Hurn OBE, Chief Executive Officer, Bishop Wilkinson Catholic Education Trust; Clementine Stewart, Vice-Chair of Governors, Langford Primary School; Claire-Marie Cuthbert, Chief Executive Officer, Evolve Trust; Andrew Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Learning Pathways Academy; Ruth Robinson, Executive Principal, Swindon and Nova Hreod AcademiesQ157–203

Tuesday 01 December 2020

Edward Davies, Director of Policy, Centre for Social Justice; Matt Leach, Chief Executive Officer, The Local Trust; Miriam Jordan Keane, Chief Marketing and Sales Officer, The National Citizen Service; Katie Sullivan, ‘Get Active’ Youth Work Co-ordinator, Regenerate UK; Suzanne Wilson, Research Fellow in Social Inclusion and Community Development, University of Central LancashireQ204–246

Thursday 07 January 2021

Professor Liz Barnes, Vice Chancellor, Staffordshire University; Chris Millward, Director for Fair Access and Participation, Office for Students; Rae Tooth, Chief Executive, Villiers Park Educational Trust; Dr Graeme Atherton, Director, The National Education Opportunities Network (NEON); Karen Spencer MBE, Principal, Harlow CollegeQ247–293

Tuesday 26 January 2021

Dr. Javed Khan, Chief Executive Officer, Barnardo’s; Merle Davies, Director, Blackpool Centre for Early Child Development; Sonia Shaljean, Managing Director, Lads need Dads; Louisa Reeves, Head of Impact and Evidence, I CAN; Claire Smith, Talk Halton Project Lead, Halton Borough CouncilQ294–348

Tuesday 09 February 2021

Rt Hon. Nick Gibb MP, Minister of State for School Standards, Department for Education; Vicky Ford MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Children and Familes, Department for EducationQ349–411

Wednesday 19 May 2021

Dr Tony Sewell CBE, Chair, Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities; Martyn Oliver, Commissioner, Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities; Professor Steve Strand, Professor of Education, University of OxfordQ412–482

Published: 22 June 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement