Energy efficiency of existing homes: Government Response to the Committee’s Fourth Report of Session 2019–21

Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty’s Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

Current membership

Rt Hon Philip Dunne MP (Conservative, Ludlow) (Chair)

Duncan Baker MP (Conservative, North Norfolk)

Dan Carden MP (Labour, Liverpool, Walton)

Sir Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Barry Gardiner MP (Labour, Brent North)

Rt Hon Robert Goodwill MP (Conservative, Scarborough and Whitby)

James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Helen Hayes MP (Labour, Dulwich and West Norwood)

Ian Levy MP (Conservative, Blyth Valley)

Caroline Lucas MP (Green Party, Brighton, Pavilion)

Cherilyn Mackrory MP (Conservative, Truro and Falmouth)

Jerome Mayhew MP (Conservative, Broadland)

John McNally MP (Scottish National Party, Falkirk)

Dr Matthew Offord MP (Conservative, Hendon)

Claudia Webbe MP (Independent, Leicester East)

Nadia Whittome MP (Labour, Nottingham East)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during this Parliament:

Feryal Clark MP (Labour, Enfield North), Marco Longhi MP (Conservative, Dudley North), Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour, Bristol East), Alex Sobel MP (Leeds, North West), and Mr Shailesh Vara MP (Conservative, North West Cambridgeshire).


The constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152A. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2020. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

Martyn Atkins (Clerk), Medha Bhasin (Second Clerk), Amy Brew (Committee Specialist), James Camp (Committee Operations Officer), Nick Davies (Senior Committee Specialist), Laura Grant (Committee Specialist), Ben Smith (Committee Support Apprentice), and Jonathan Wright (Committee Operations Manager).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environmental Audit Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8890; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsEAC.

Published: 13 May 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement