The UK Government’s Response to the Myanmar Crisis Contents

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling) (Chair)

Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda)

Neil Coyle MP (Labour, Bermondsey and Old Southwark)

Alicia Kearns MP (Conservative, Rutland and Melton)

Stewart Malcolm McDonald MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow South)

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)

Bob Seely MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

Henry Smith MP (Conservative, Crawley)

Royston Smith MP (Conservative, Southampton, Itchen)

Graham Stringer MP (Labour, Blackley and Broughton)

Claudia Webbe MP (Independent, Leicester East)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are, Lauren Boyer (Clerk), Clare Genis (Committee Operations Manager), Jonathan Hibbert-Hingston (Committee Specialist), James Jennion (Committee Specialist), Danniella Kinder (Committee Support Apprentice), Alice Lynch (Committee Specialist), Antonia McAndrew-Noon (Media and Communications Officer), Chris Shaw (Clerk), Daniela Sindrestean (Committee Operations Officer), Hannah Stone (Senior Committee Specialist).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6106; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsForeign.

Published: 16 July 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement