Workforce burnout and resilience in the NHS and social care Contents

Health and Social Care Committee

The Health and Social Care Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department of Health & Social Care.

Current membership

Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP (Conservative, South West Surrey) (Chair)

Paul Bristow MP (Conservative, Peterborough)

Rosie Cooper MP (Labour, West Lancashire)

Dr James Davies MP (Conservative, Vale of Clwyd)

Dr Luke Evans MP (Conservative, Bosworth)

Barbara Keeley MP (Labour, Worsley and Eccles South)

Taiwo Owatemi MP (Labour, Coventry North West)

Sarah Owen MP (Labour, Luton North)

Anum Qaisar-Javed MP (Scottish National Party MP for Airdrie and Shotts)

Dean Russell MP (Conservative, Watford)

Laura Trott MP (Conservative, Sevenoaks)

Neale Hanvey MP (Alba Pary, Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath) was also a member of the committee during this inquiry


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Jasmine Chingono (Clinical Fellow), Matt Case (Committee Specialist), James Davies (Clerk), Gina Degtyareva (Media and Communications Officer), Previn Desai (Second Clerk), Rebecca Owen-Evans (Committee Specialist), Sandy Gill (Committee Operations Officer), Bethan Harding (Assistant Clerk), James McQuade (Committee Operations Manager), and Anne Peacock (Senior Media and Communications Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Health and Social Care Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6182; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter @CommonsHealth

Published: 8 June 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement