Rainsbrook Secure Training Centre Contents

Justice Committee

The Justice Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Ministry of Justice and its associated public bodies (including the work of staff provided for the administrative work of courts and tribunals, but excluding consideration of individual cases and appointments, and excluding the work of the Scotland and Wales Offices and of the Advocate General for Scotland); and administration and expenditure of the Attorney General’s Office, the Treasury Solicitor’s Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office (but excluding individual cases and appointments and advice given within government by Law Officers).

Current membership

Sir Robert Neill MP (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst) (Chair)

Paula Barker MP (Labour, Liverpool, Wavertree)

Rob Butler MP (Conservative, Aylesbury)

Angela Crawley (Scottish National Party, Lanark and Hamilton East)

Janet Daby MP (Labour, Lewisham East)

James Daly MP (Conservative, Bury North)

Sarah Dines MP (Conservative, Derbyshire Dales)

Maria Eagle MP (Labour, Garston and Halewood)

Laura Farris (Conservative, Newbury)

Dr Kieran Mullan MP (Conservative, Crewe and Nantwich)

Andy Slaughter MP (Labour, Hammersmith)

The following were also Members of the Committee during the 2021–22 Session: Kenny MacAskill MP (Alba Party, East Lothian), John Howell MP (Conservative, Henley)


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/.

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/justicecttee and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are, Chloë Cockett (Senior Specialist), Su Panchanathan (Committee Operations Officer), Tracey Payne (Committee Specialist), George Perry (Committee Media Officer), Christine Randall (Committee Operations Manager), Jack Simson Caird (Assistant Counsel), Ben Street (Second Clerk), Holly Tremain (Committee Specialist), and David Weir (Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Justice Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8196; the Committee’s email address is justicecom@parliament.uk.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsJustice.

Published: 24 June 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement