Mental health in prison Contents

Published written evidence

The following written evidence was received and can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

MHP numbers are generated by the evidence processing system and so may not be complete.

1Asylum Welcome (MHP0043)

2Befriending and Support Team for Foreign Nationals in HMP Wandsworth (BEST) (MHP0019)

3British Psychological Society (MHP0045)

4Buck, Dr Gillian (Senior Lecturer in Social Work, University of Chester) (MHP0013)

5CNWL Foundation Trust, Health and Justice Services Directorate (MHP0029)

6CNWL Foundation Trust, Health and Justice Services Directorate (MHP0027)

7CNWL Foundation Trust, Health and Justice Services Directorate (MHP0028)

8Centre for Mental Health (MHP0026)

9Clinks (MHP0041)

10Criminal Justice Alliance (MHP0046)

11De Profundis LTd (MHP0011)

12Department of Health and Social Care (MHP0062)

13G4S Custody & Rehabilitation Services (MHP0058)

14HMI Prisons (MHP0064)

15Howard League for Penal Reform (MHP0055)


17Independent Advisory Forum on Deaths in Custody (MHP0053)

18Independent monitoring boards (MHP0036)

19Ismail, Nasrul (Lecturer in Criminology, School for Policy Studies, University of Bristol) (MHP0025)

20Jamwal, Mr Rameshwar (President, Criminologists Society of J&K, India) (MHP0004)

21Keep Prisons Single Sex (MHP0003)

22Leese, Dr Maggie (Head of Department, Teesside University); Dr Victoria Bell (Principal Lecturer, Teesside University); and Jennifer Ferguson (Research Associate, Teesside University) (MHP0037)

23Mackenzie, Dr Jay-Marie (Senior Lecturer, The University of Westminster); and Dr Coral Sirdifield (Research Fellow, University of Lincoln) (MHP0032)

24McManus, Sally (Senior Lecturer, Violence and Society Centre, City, University of London and NatCen Social Research); Prof Traolach Brugha (Professor of Psychiatry, Department of Health Sciences, University of Leicester); and Professor Paul Bebbington (Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, Division of Psychiatry, UCL) (MHP0033)

25Maslaha (MHP0060)

26Mind in Camden (MHP0018)

27Ministry of Justice (MHP0044)

28Moran, Professor Dominique (Professor in Carceral Geography, University of Birmingham) (MHP0005)

29NACRO (MHP0049)

30Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust (MHP0038)

31POA – the Professional Trades Union for Prison, Correctional & Secure Psychiatric Workers (MHP0039)

32POhWER (MHP0022)

33Padfield, Professor Nicola (Professor, University of Cambridge) (MHP0014)

34Parole Board for England and Wales (MHP0048)

35Pattinson, Ms Tamara (MHP0002)

36Practice Plus Group (MHP0016)

37Prison Governors Association (MHP0057)

38Prison Reform Trust (MHP0030)

39Prisoner Learning Alliance (MHP0006)

40Rethink Mental Illness (MHP0020)

41Royal College of General Practitioners (MHP0059)

42Royal College of Nursing (MHP0010)

43Royal College of Psychiatrists (MHP0052)

44Royal College of Psychiatrists, Quality Network for Prison Mental Health Services (QNPMHS) (MHP0047)

45Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists (MHP0051)

46Samaritans (MHP0056)

47Slade, Dr Karen (Associate Professor of applied forensic psychology , Nottingham Trent University); and Rich Pickford (Knowledge Exchange and Impact Officer, Nottingham Civic Exchange) (MHP0009)

48Swansea Bay University Health Board (MHP0040)

49Takeda UK Ltd (MHP0050)

50The Centre for Crime and Justice Studies (MHP0035)

51The Disabilities Trust (MHP0031)

52Think Through Nutrition (MHP0012)

53Tomczak, Dr Philippa (Principal Research Fellow, University of Nottingham) (MHP0008)


55VoiceAbility (MHP0017)

56Weston, Claire (MHP0021)

57Women in Prison (MHP0054)

58Youth Justice Board (MHP0034)

59Zahid Mubarek Trust (MHP0023)

Published: 29 September 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement