Citizenship and passport processes relating to Northern Ireland Contents

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Northern Ireland Office (but excluding individual cases and advice given by the Crown Solicitor); and other matters within the responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (but excluding the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Northern Ireland and the drafting of legislation by the Office of the Legislative Counsel).

Current membership

Simon Hoare MP (Conservative, North Dorset) (Chair)

Scott Benton MP (Conservative, Blackpool South)

Gregory Campbell MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry)

Stephen Farry MP (Alliance, North Down)

Mary Kelly Foy MP (Labour, City of Durham)

Robert Goodwill MP (Conservative, Scarborough and Whitby)

Claire Hanna MP (Social Democratic & Labour Party, Belfast South)

Fay Jones MP (Conservative, Brecon and Radnorshire)

Ian Paisley MP (Democratic Unionist Party, North Antrim)

Stephanie Peacock MP (Labour, Barnsley East)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

Jasaron Bajwa, (Second Clerk), Polina Eaton (Committee Operations Manager), Stephen Habberley (Clerk), George James (Committee Specialist), Sam Nariani (Committee Specialist), Chloe Smith (Apprentice Inquiry Manager), Kelly Tunnicliffe (Committee Operations Officer), and Tim West (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3672; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsNIAC.

Published: 7 July 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement