Twenty-sixth Report: Work of the Commission in 2020 Contents

The Public Accounts Commission

The Public Accounts Commission is defined by the National Audit Act 1983 and the Budget Responsibility and National Audit Act 2011. The Commission’s principal duties under the Acts are to review the National Audit Office (NAO) Estimate and lay it before the House of Commons, to appoint the accounting officer for the NAO, to appoint an auditor for the NAO, to appoint non-executive members of the NAO board (other than the chairman), and to report from time to time.

Current membership

Mr Richard Bacon MP (Conservative, South Norfolk) (Chair)

Jack Brereton MP (Conservative, Stoke-on-Trent South)

Nicholas Brown MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne East)

Anthony Browne MP (Conservative, South Cambridgeshire)

Clive Efford MP (Labour, Eltham)

Peter Grant MP (Scottish National Party, Glenrothes)

Meg Hillier MP (Labour (Co-op), Hackney South and Shoreditch) (ex-officio as Chair of the Public Accounts Committee)

Sir Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Jacob Rees-Mogg MP (Conservative, North East Somerset)


The Reports and evidence of the Commission are published by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee can be found on the publications page of the Committee website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Commission are Kevin Maddison (Secretary to the Commission) and Arvind Gunnoo (Committee Operations Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to Kevin Maddison, Secretary to the Commission, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA; The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2924.

Published: 12 July 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement