Boris Johnson Contents

Committee on Standards

The Committee on Standards is appointed by the House of Commons to oversee the work of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards, except in relation to the conduct of individual cases under the Independent Complaints and Grievance Scheme; to examine the arrangements proposed by the Commissioner for the compilation, maintenance and accessibility of the Register of Members’ Financial Interests and any other registers of interest established by the House; to review from time to time the form and content of those registers; to consider any specific complaints made in relation to the registering or declaring of interests referred to it by the Commissioner; to consider any matter relating to the conduct of Members, including specific complaints in relation to alleged breaches in the Code of Conduct which have been drawn to the Committee’s attention by the Commissioner; and to recommend any modifications to the Code of Conduct as may from time to time appear to be necessary.

Current membership

Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda) (Chair)

Tammy Banks (Lay member)

Jane Burgess (Lay member)

Andy Carter MP (Conservative, Warrington South)

Alberto Costa MP (Conservative, South Leicestershire)

Rita Dexter (Lay member)

Allan Dorans MP (Scottish National Party, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock,)

Chris Elmore MP (Labour, Ogmore)

Mark Fletcher MP (Conservative, Bolsover)

Sir Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex)

Dr Michael Maguire (Lay member)

Mehmuda Mian (Lay member)

Dr Arun Midha (Lay member)

Paul Thorogood (Lay member)


The constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in Standing Order No.149. In particular, the Committee has power to order the attendance of any Member of Parliament before the Committee and to require that specific documents or records in the possession of a Member relating to its inquiries, or to the inquiries of the Commissioner, be laid before the Committee. The Committee has power to refuse to allow its public proceedings to be broadcast. The Law Officers, if they are Members of Parliament, may attend and take part in the Committee’s proceedings, but may not vote.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Paul Connolly (Media Relations Manager), Arvind Gunnoo (Committee Operations Officer), Dr Robin James (Clerk), and Stuart Ramsay (Second Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committee at the Committee’s email address, The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6615.

Published: 8 July 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement