Eleventh Report of Session 2021–22 Contents

Select Committee on Statutory Instruments

Current membership

Jessica Morden MP (Labour, Newport East) (Chair)

Dr James Davies MP (Conservative, Vale of Clwyd)

Paul Holmes MP (Conservative, Eastleigh)

John Lamont MP (Conservative, Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk)

Sir Robert Syms MP (Conservative, Poole)

Richard Thomson MP (Scottish National Party, Gordon)

Liz Twist MP (Labour, Blaydon)


The full constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 151, available on the Internet via https://www.parliament.uk/business/publications/commons/standing-orders-public11/.

The Select Committee on Statutory Instruments (SCSI) is appointed to consider statutory instruments made in exercise of powers granted by Act of Parliament. It carries out the same duties as the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments in respect of those instruments laid before and subject to proceedings in the House of Commons only.

The role of the SCSI, whose membership is drawn from the House of Commons, is to assess the technical qualities of each instrument that falls within its remit and to decide whether to draw the special attention of the House to any instrument on one or more of the following grounds:

i that it imposes, or sets the amount of, a charge on public revenue or that it requires payment for a licence, consent or service to be made to the Exchequer, a government department or a public or local authority, or sets the amount of the payment;

ii that its parent legislation says that it cannot be challenged in the courts;

iii that it appears to have retrospective effect without the express authority of the parent legislation;

iv that there appears to have been unjustifiable delay in publishing it or laying it before Parliament;

v that there appears to have been unjustifiable delay in sending a notification under the proviso to section 4(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, where the instrument has come into force before it has been laid;

vi that there appears to be doubt about whether there is power to make it or that it appears to make an unusual or unexpected use of the power to make;

vii that its form or meaning needs to be explained;

viii that its drafting appears to be defective;

ix or on any other ground which does not go to its merits or the policy behind it.

The Committee usually meets weekly when Parliament is sitting.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/.

The reports of the Committee are published in print by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee are available on the Internet from www.parliament.uk/scsi.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Sue Beeby (Committee Operations Officer), Apostolos Kostoulas (Committee Operations Officer) and Luanne Middleton (Clerk). Advisory Counsel: Sarita Arthur-Crow, Klara Banaszak, Daniel Greenberg, and Vanessa MacNair.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 7599; the Committee’s email address is: jcsi@parliament.uk.

Published: 19 November 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement