Unequal impact? Coronavirus and the gendered economic impact: Government response to the Committee’s fifth report of Session 2019–21

Women and Equalities Committee

The Women and Equalities Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Government Equalities Office (GEO).

Current membership

Caroline Nokes MP (Conservative, Romsey and Southampton North) (Chair)

Ben Bradley MP (Conservative, Mansfield)

Theo Clarke MP (Conservative, Stafford)

Elliot Colburn MP (Conservative, Carshalton and Wallington)

Angela Crawley MP (Scottish National Party, Lanark and Hamilton East)

Alex Davies-Jones MP (Labour, Pontypridd)

Peter Gibson MP (Conservative, Darlington)

Kim Johnson MP (Labour, Liverpool, Riverside)

Kate Osborne MP (Labour, Jarrow)

Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP (Labour, Streatham)

Nicola Richards MP (Conservative, West Bromwich East)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament.

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/womenandequalities and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Hannah Barlow (Committee Operations Manager), James Clarke (Committee Specialist), Holly Dustin (Committee Specialist), Chloe Freeman (Committee Specialist), Mariam Keating (Committee Specialist, Sean Kinsey (Clerk), Anwen Rees (Second Clerk) and Saffron Stewart (Committee Support Apprentice).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Women and Equalities Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5513; the Committee’s email address is womeqcom@parliament.uk.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @Commonswomequ.

Published: 14 May 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement