Disability employment gap Contents

Work and Pensions Committee

The Work and Pensions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Work and Pensions and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Stephen Timms MP (Labour, East Ham) (Chair)

Debbie Abrahams MP (Labour, Oldham East and Saddleworth)

Shaun Bailey MP (Conservative, West Bromwich West)

Siobhan Baillie MP (Conservative, Stroud)

Neil Coyle MP (Labour, Bermondsey and Old Southwark)

Steve McCabe MP (Labour, Birmingham, Selly Oak)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Selaine Saxby MP (Conservative, North Devon)

Dr Ben Spencer MP (Conservative, Runnymede and Weybridge)

Chris Stephens MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow South West)

Sir Desmond Swayne MP (Conservative, New Forest West)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament.

Committee reports are published on the publications page of the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Morenike Alamu (Committee Operations Officer), Henry Ayi-Hyde (Committee Operations Officer), David Betteley (Committee Specialist), Harrison Card (Assistant Policy Analyst), Oliver Florence (Senior Media and Communications Officer), Anne-Marie Griffiths (Clerk), Ed Hamill (Committee Operations Manager), Ailish McAllister-Fisher (Second Clerk), Dr Libby McEnhill and James Mirza Davies (Senior Committee Specialists).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Work and Pensions Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8976; the Committee’s email address is workpencom@parliament.uk

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsWorkPen

Published: 30 July 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement