Select Committee on Draft Local Government (Organisation and Standards) Bill First Report


Thursday 17 June 1999

Mr Andrew Whetnall, Director, Local Government, Mr Andrew Redpath, Head of Local Government Legislation Division, and Mr Simon Hewitt, Local Government Sponsorship Division, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions.

Mr Ian Thomas, and Mr Gareth Thomas, Welsh Local Government Modernisation Division, Welsh Office.

Tuesday 22 June 1999
Councillor Sir Jeremy Beecham, Chairman, Councillor Lord Hanningfield, Leader of the Conservative Group, Councillor Sir David Williams CBE, Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, Councillor Ron Gee OBE, Leader of the Independent Group, Mr Brian Briscoe, Chief Executive, Local Government Association, and Councillor Harry Jones CBE, Vice Chair of the Local Government Association and Leader of the Welsh Local Government Association.

Thursday 24 June 1999
Professor Gerry Stoker, Chairman of the New Local Government Network

Councillor Brendan Bird, London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham, Councillor Obajimi Adefiranye, London Borough of Lewisham, Councillor Tom Davidson, London Borough of Harringey, Councillor Aileen Hammond and Councillor Gerry Harrison, London Borough of Camden.

Tuesday 29 June 1999
Mr Alan Taylor, President, Society of Local Authority Chief Executives (SOLACE), and Chief Executive and Town Clerk, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, Dr Clive Grace, Hon Secretary, SOLACE (Wales) and Chief Executive, Torfaen County Borough Council, Mr Michael Greenwood, Chief Executive, Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council, Mr George Krawiec, Chief Executive, Southend-on-Sea Borough Council, and Mr Michael Pitt, Chief Executive Kent County Council, SOLACE.

Ms Jean Geldart, Chair, Local Government Service Group, and Mr Owen Davies, National Officer, Local Government Service Group, UNISON.

Thursday 1 July 1999

Mr Ben Page, Director of the Local Government Research Unit, MORI.

Ms Stella Clarke, London Borough of Lewisham.

Ms Jo Ryan, Ms Edith Megbele and Ms Elaine Osbourne, Lewisham Citizens' Panel.

Tuesday 6 July 1999
Mrs Patricia Thomas, Vice Chairman, and Mr David Nice, Research and Publications Manager, Commission for Local Administration in England.

Mr Elwyn Moseley, Commissioner, Commission for Local Administration in Wales.

Mr Richard Lester LLB, Solicitor, County Secretary, Cornwall County Council, and Mr Michael Kendall LLB, Solicitor, County Secretary, West Sussex County Council, Association of Council Secretaries and Solicitors.

Thursday 8 July 1999
Mr Andrew Slaughter, The Mayor, and Mr Henry Peterson, Director of Policy and Administration, London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham.

Ms Jill Shortland, Leader, and Ms Elaine Peters, Chief Executive, South Somerset District Council.

Mr David Smith, Town Clerk and Chief Executive, Epsom and Ewell District Council.

Councillor Merrick R Cockall and Councillor Nicholas Paget-Brown, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

Tuesday 13 July 1999
Professor John Stewart, Birmingham University.

Thursday 15 July 1999
The Rt Hon Hilary Armstrong MP, Minister of State, Mr Paul Rowsell, Head of Local Government Sponsorship Division and Mr Tony Redpath, Head of Local Government Legislation Division, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999
Prepared 11 August 1999