Joint Committee On Human Rights First Special Report


The Committee has six Members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The present membership of the Committee was appointed on 22 January as follows:

    Lord Carlisle of Bucklow
    Lord Goldsmith
    Lord Lester of Herne Hill
    Baroness Perry of Southwark
    Baroness Prashar
    Baroness Whitaker


The Committee shall consist of six Members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee was appointed on 17 January and is as follows:

    Mr Desmond Browne MP (Labour, Kilmarnock and Loudoun)
    Sir Patrick Cormack MP (Conservative, South Staffordshire)
    Jean Corston MP (Labour, Bristol East)
    Rt Hon Robert Maclennan MP (Liberal Democrat, Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross)
    Mr Andrew Miller MP (Labour, Ellesmere Port and Neston)
    Mr Gareth Thomas MP (Labour, Clwyd West)


The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders made under Section 10 of and laid under Schedule 2 to the Human Rights Act 1998; and in respect of draft remedial orders and remedial orders, whether the special attention of the House should be drawn to them on any of the grounds specified in Standing Order No. 73 (Lords)/151 (Commons) (Statutory Instruments (Joint Committee)).

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom, to adjourn to institutions of the Council of Europe outside the United Kingdom no more than four times in any calendar year, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses.

The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman. The procedures of the Joint Committee follow those of House of Lords Select Committees where they differ from House of Commons Committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Joint Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: (020) 7219 3318; the Committee's e-mail address is:

On 31 January 2001, the Committee elected Jean Corston as its Chairman.

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 13 March 2001