Houses of Parliament portcullis
House of Lords
House of Commons
Session 2001-02
House of Lords Publications on the internet
House of Commons Publications on the internet
Joint Committee on the Draft Communications Bill Publications

Joint Committee on the Draft Communications Bill - Minutes of Evidence

Here you can browse the Minutes of Evidence which were ordered by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to be printed 10 June 2002.


Anelay of St Johns, B. Howe of Idlicote, B.
Paul FarrellyAnne Picking
Cohen of Pimlico, B.McNally, L.
Mr John GroganNick Harvey
Crickhowell, L.Pilkington of Oxenford, L.
Mr Andrew LansleyPuttnam, L. (Chairman)


MS RACHEL CLARK and MR ANTHONY SUSMAN, Members of the Bill Team, in attendance.

Examination of Witnesses

MS VIVIANE REDING, EU Commissioner for Education and Culture, and MR GREGORY PAULGER, Chef de Cabinet, examined.

Question Numbers



Memorandum submitted by NTL

Memorandum submitted by Telewest Broadband

Examination of Witnesses

MR JOHN ARNOTT and MS WENDY HARDAKER, members of the Bill Team, in attendance.

MR STEPHEN CARTER, Chief Operating Officer, NTL; MR MALCOLM TAYLOR, Public Policy Adviser, Telewest, MR HOWARD WATSON, Head of Networks, Telewest, and MR DAVID DOHERTY, Managing Director, Broadband Content, Telewest, examined.

Question Numbers




Memorandum submitted by Hutchison 3G, O2, Orange, T-Mobile and Vodafone

Examination of Witnesses

MR PETER DUNN Director of Regulatory Strategy and UK Public Policy, Orange; MR ROB BORTHWICK, Regulatory Affairs Executive, Vodafone; MR FRANS LIJNKAMP, Director of Public Policy, T-Mobile; MR RICHARD BROWN, Head of Public Affairs, O2; and MR RICHARD RUMBELOW, Director, Government/Regulatory Affairs, Hutchison 3G, examined.

Question Numbers



Memorandum submitted by Nortel Networks

Memorandum submitted by Cable and Wireless plc

Examination of Witnesses

MR JOHN ARNOTT, member of the Bill Team, in attendance.

MR DAVID WICKHAM, Chief Executive, MR CARL GIBSON, Director of Public Affairs, and MS PENNY HIERON, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Energis; MR PHILIP HARGRAVE, Chief Scientist, Nortel; and MR DAVID MCCONNELL, and MR TOM PHILLIPS, Cable & Wireless, examined.

Question Numbers



Memorandum submitted by British Telecommunications (BT)

Examination of Witnesses

MR JOHN ARNOTT and MS WENDY HARDAKER, members of the Bill Team, in attendance.

MR BEN VERWAAYEN, Chief Executive, MS ANNE HEAL, Director of Regulatory Affairs, and MS ANNE FLETCHER, Group General Counsel, British Telecommunications, examined.

Question Numbers



contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 5 July 2002