Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments Minutes of Proceedings Report



The Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments is appointed to consider all statutory instruments made in exercise of powers granted by Act of Parliament. Instruments not laid before Parliament are included within the Committee's remit; but local instruments and instruments made by devolved administrations do not fall to be considered by JCSI unless they are required to be laid before Parliament.

The Joint Committee is empowered to draw the special attention of both Houses to an instrument on any one of a number of grounds specified in the Standing Order under which it works; or on any other ground which does not impinge upon the merits of the instrument or the policy behind it.


The membership of the Joint Committee during the Session 2001-02 was as follows:[1]

Mr David Tredinnick MP (Conservative, Bosworth) (appointed Chairman, 5 July 2001)

Andrew Bennett MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish)

Mr Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (Ulster Unionist, Lagan Valley)

Huw Irranca­Davies MP (Labour, Ogmore)[2]

Chris Mole MP (Labour, Ipswich)[3]

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)[4]

Brian White MP (Labour, Milton Keynes North East)

Lord Brougham and Vaux CBE (Conservative)

Lord Greenway (Cross Bench)

Lord Hardy of Wath (Labour)

Lord Lea of Crondall OBE (Labour)

Lord Skelmersdale (Conservative)

Lord Thomas of Gresford (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Vivian (Conservative)


The full constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 141 and House of Lords Standing Order No. 74, available on the Internet via


The reports of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of both Houses. All publications of the Committee are available on the Internet from instruments.cfm.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments, Delegated Legislation Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2830; the Committee's e­mail address is:

1  Mr Harold Best was appointed on 2 July 2001 and discharged on 10 May 2002. Mr Ivan Henderson was appointed on 2 July 2001 and discharged on 10 May 2002. Mr Jonathan Djanogly was appointed on 2 July 2001 and discharged on 23 May 2002. Back

2  Appointed 10 May 2002. Back

3  Appointed 10 May 2002. Back

4  Appointed 23 May 2002. Back

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 15 April 2003