Joint Committee on Draft Civil Contingencies Bill First Report

The Joint Committee on the draft Civil Contingencies Bill

The Joint Committee on the draft Civil Contingencies Bill was appointed on 11 July "to consider and report on any draft civil contingencies Bill presented to both Houses by a Minister of the Crown" by the end of November 2003.


Dr Lewis Moonie MP (Labour, Kirkcaldy) (Chairman)

Mr Richard Allan MP (Liberal Democrat, Sheffield Hallam)

Mr Adrian Bailey MP (Labour, West Bromwich West)

David Cairns MP (Labour, Greenock and Inverclyde)

Mr James Clappison MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, North Durham)

Mr Elfyn Llwyd MP (Plaid Cymru, Meirionnydd Nant Conwy)

Patrick Mercer MP (Conservative, Newark)

Chris Mole MP (Labour, Ipswich)

Kali Mountford MP (Labour, Colne Valley)

David Wright MP (Labour, Telford)

Rt Hon the Lord Archer of Sandwell, QC (Labour)

Professor the Lord Bradshaw (Liberal Democrat)

The Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe (Labour)

The Lord Condon QPM DL (Cross-Bencher)

The Lord Jordan, CBE (Labour)

Rt Hon the Lord King of Bridgwater CH (Conservative)

The Lord Lucas of Crudwell and Dingwall (Conservative)

The Lord Maginnis of Drumglass (Cross-Bencher)

The Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale (Labour)

The Lord Roper (Liberal Democrat)

The Earl of Shrewsbury (Conservative)


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House of Lords and House of Commons. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The staff of the Committee was Ian Mackley (Lords Clerk), Andrew Kennon (Commons Clerk), Jennifer Smookler (Committee Specialist), Glenn McKee (Estimates Specialist) and Claire Little (Secretary). The Joint Committee was assisted by staff from the Scrutiny Unit in the House of Commons.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committee, House of Lords, Millbank House, London SW1A 0PW. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4911; the Joint Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 28 November 2003