Joint Committee on the Draft Mental Incapacity Bill First Report

The Joint Committee on the Draft Mental Incapacity Bill

The Joint Committee on the Draft Mental Incapacity Bill was appointed by the House of Commons and the House of Lords on Friday 11 July 2003 to examine the Draft Mental Incapacity Bill and report to both Houses no later than four months after the presentation of the draft Bill

Current membership

Lord Carter (Labour) Chairman

Baroness Barker (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Fookes (Conservative)

Baroness Knight of Collingtree (Conservative)

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall (Labour)

Lord Pearson of Rannoch (Conservative)

Lord Rix (Crossbencher)

Baroness Wilkins (Labour)

Mr John Bercow MP (Conservative, Buckingham)

Mrs Angela Browning MP (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton)

Mr Paul Burstow MP (Liberal Democrat, Sutton and Cheam)

Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West)

Stephen Hesford MP (Labour, Wirral West)

Mrs Joan Humble MP (Labour, Blackpool North and Fleetwood)

Huw Irranca-Davies MP (Labour, Ogmore)

Laura Moffatt MP (Labour, Crawley)


The committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet away from Westminster, to meet at any time, (except when Parliament is prorogues or dissolved), to appoint specialist advisers, and to make reports to the two Houses.


The Report and evidence of the Joint Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Joint Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The staff of the Committee were drawn from both Houses and comprised Gordon Baker and Sîan Jones (Clerks), Francene Graham (Committee Assistant), and Melanie Moore (Committee Secretary). The Committee was supported by the Scrutiny Unit in the House of Commons Committee Office.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on the Mental Incapacity Bill, House of Lords, London SW1P 0PW. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8387; the Joint Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 28 November 2003