Joint Committee on House of Lords Reform First Report

APPENDIX 2: Analysis of the composition of the House of Lords at 9 December 2002

By Party Strength

Life Peers
Hereditary: Elected by Party
Hereditary: Elected Office Holders
Hereditary: *Royal Office Holders
Conservative167 41†9 217
Labour184 22 188
Liberal Democrat61 32 66
Crossbench145 29†2 1 177
Archbishops and Bishops 2424
Other‡9 9
TOTAL566 7515 124 681

N.B. Excludes 12 Lords who are on leave of absence and 3 who are not in receipt of a writ of summons.

By Type

  Archbishops and bishops 24
  Life Peers under the Appellate Jurisdiction Act 1876 28
  Life Peers under the Life Peerages Act 1958 (109 women)550
  Peers under the House of Lords Act 1999 (4 women)91
  TOTAL 693

* These are: the Duke of Norfolk (Earl Marshal - not currently in receipt of a writ) and the Marquess of Cholmondeley (Lord Great Chamberlain - Crossbench).

† Lord Brabazon of Tara was elected as a Conservative but, as the Chairman of Committees, he now sits on the Crossbenches.

‡ These are: Lord Archer of Weston-super-Mare, Non-affiliated; Lord Beaumont of Whitley, Green Party; Lord Carey of Clifton, Non-affiliated; Lord Fitt, Independent Socialist; Lord Grenfell, Non-affiliated; Lord McAlpine of West Green, Independent Conservative; Lord Stoddart of Swindon, Independent Labour; Lord Wilson of Dinton, Non-affiliated; Baroness Young of Old Scone, Non-affiliated.

Source: House of Lords Information Office

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 11 December 2002