Joint Committee On Human Rights Thirteenth Report

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders made under Section 10 of and laid under Schedule 2 to the Human Rights Act 1998; and in respect of draft remedial orders and remedial orders, whether the special attention of the House should be drawn to them on any of the grounds specified in Standing Order No. 73 (Lords)/151 (Commons) (Statutory Instruments (Joint Committee)).

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three from each House.

Current membership

House of Lords  House of Commons

Lord Bowness  Vera Baird MP (Labour, Redcar)

Lord Lester of Herne Hill  Mr David Chidgey MP (Liberal Democrat, Eastleigh)

Lord Parekh  Jean Corston MP (Labour, Bristol East) (Chairman)

Baroness Perry of Southwark  Mr Kevin McNamara MP (Labour, Kingston upon Hull)

Baroness Prashar  Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative,

Baroness Whitaker  (Aldridge-Brownhills)

  Mr Shaun Woodward MP (Labour, St Helens South)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom, to adjourn to institutions of the Council of Europe outside the United Kingdom no more than four times in any calendar year, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses.

The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman. The procedures of the Joint Committee follow those of House of Lords Select Committees where they differ from House of Commons Committees.


The Reports and evidence of the Joint Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office House of Commons London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2797; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 17 June 2003