Joint Committee On Human Rights Fifteenth Report

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders; draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three from each House.

Current membership
House of Lords House of Commons
Lord Bowness Vera Baird MP (Labour, Redcar)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill Mr David Chidgey MP (Liberal Democrat, Eastleigh)
Lord Parekh Jean Corston MP (Labour, Bristol East) (Chairman)
Baroness Perry of Southwark Mr Kevin McNamara MP (Labour, Kingston upon Hull)
Baroness Prashar Mr Richard Shepherd MP
Baroness Whitaker (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)
  Mr Shaun Woodward MP (Labour, St Helens South)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Reports and evidence of the Joint Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Current Staff

The current staff of the Committee are: Paul Evans (Commons Clerk), Thomas Elias (Lords Clerk), Professor David Feldman (Legal Adviser), Róisín Pillay (Committee Specialist), Duma Langton (Committee Assistant) and Pam Morris (Committee Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2797; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 21 July 2003