Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments Twenty-First Report

Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments

The Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments (JCSI) is appointed to consider all statutory instruments made in exercise of powers granted by Act of Parliament. Instruments not laid before Parliament are included within the Committee's remit; but local instruments and instruments made by devolved administrations do not fall to be considered by JCSI unless they are required to be laid before Parliament.

The Joint Committee is empowered to draw the special attention of both Houses to an instrument on any one of a number of grounds specified in the Standing Order under which it works; or on any other ground which does not impinge upon the merits of the instrument or the policy behind it.

Current membership

House of Lords

Lord Brougham and Vaux CBE (Conservative)

Lord Greenway (Cross Bench)

Lord Hardy of Wath (Labour)

Lord Lea of Crondall OBE (Labour)

Lord Mancroft (Conservative)

Earl Russell (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Skelmersdale (Conservative)

House of Commons

Mr David Tredinnick MP (Conservative, Bosworth) (Chairman)

Andrew Bennett MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish)

Mr Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (Ulster Unionist, Lagan Valley)

Huw Irranca Davies MP (Labour, Ogmore)

Chris Mole MP (Labour, Ipswich)

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)

Brian White MP (Labour, Milton Keynes North East)


The full constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 151 and House of Lords Standing Order No. 74, available on the Internet via


The reports of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of

both Houses. All publications of the Committee are available on the Internet from.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Martyn Atkins (Commons Clerk), Anna Murphy (Lords Clerk), Jane Lauder (Committee Secretary) and Brian Dye (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments, Delegated Legislation Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2830; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 13 June 2003