Joint Committee on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill First Report

Joint Committee on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill

The Joint Committee was appointed to consider and report on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill published by the Ministry of Justice on 25 March 2008 (Cm 7342-II). The Committee was appointed by the House of Commons on 30 April 2008 and the House of Lords on 6 May 2008.

The Members of the Committee were:
Lord Armstrong of IlminsterMr Alistair Carmichael MP
Lord Campbell of AllowayChristopher Chope MP
Lord Fraser of CarmyllieMichael Jabez Foster MP (Chairman)
Baroness Gibson of Market RasenMark Lazarowicz MP
Lord Hart of ChiltonMartin Linton MP
Lord Maclennan of RogartIan Lucas MP
Lord MorganFiona Mactaggart MP
Lord Norton of LouthMr Virendra Sharma MP
Lord Plant of HighfieldEmily Thornberry MP
Lord TylerMr Andrew Tyrie MP
Lord Williamson of HortonSir George Young MP

Full lists of Members' interests are recorded in the Commons Register of Members' Interests and the Lords Register of Interests

Committee staff

The staff of the Joint Committee were drawn from both Houses and comprised: Kate Lawrence (Lords Clerk), Matthew Hamlyn (Commons Clerk), Stuart Stoner (Committee Specialist), Simon Fuller (Legal Specialist), Dilys Tonge (Committee Assistant), Paul Simpkin (Committee Assistant), Claudia Rock (Secretarial Administrator) and Sadiya Akram (ESRC intern, House of Commons)

General Information

General information about the House of Lords, House of Commons and Parliamentary Committees, is on the internet at

Contacts for Joint Committee on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk, Joint Committee on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill, Committee Office, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW.

The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8675.

The Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 31 July 2008