Joint Committee on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill First Report


The members of the Joint Committee which conducted this Inquiry were:

Lord Armstrong of Ilminster    Mr Alistair Carmichael MP

Lord Campbell of Alloway    Mr Christopher Chope MP

Lord Fraser of Carmyllie    Michael Jabez Foster (Chairman)

Baroness Gibson of Market Rasen    Mark Lazarowicz MP

Lord Hart of Chilton    Martin Linton MP

Lord Maclennan of Rogart    Ian Lucas MP

Lord Morgan    Fiona Mactaggart MP

Lord Norton of Louth    Mr Virendra Sharma MP

Lord Plant of Highfield    Emily Thornberry MP

Lord Tyler    Mr Andrew Tyrie MP

Lord Williamson of Horton    Sir George Young MP

Interests relevant to this inquiry

Lord Armstrong of Ilminster

Former Head of the Home Civil Service

Lord Campbell of Alloway

QC (no longer practising)

Mr Christopher Chope MP

Barrister, currently non-practising

Lord Fraser of Carmyllie

Michael Jabez Foster (Chairman)

Consultant to a firm of solicitors, Messrs. Fynmores of Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex.

Baroness Gibson of Market Rasen

Mark Lazarowicz MP

Member, Faculty of Advocates (non-practising)

Lord Hart of Chilton

A solicitor

Wife a solicitor and a Recorder

A former Special Adviser

Martin Linton MP

A director of Make Votes Count (unpaid)

Ian Lucas MP

Unpaid consultant in Stevens Lucas, Solicitors

Lord Maclennan of Rogart

A Member of the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments

Lord Morgan

Lord Norton of Louth

Professor of Government, University of Hull (Director, Centre for Legislative Studies) Director of Studies, Hansard Society

Member, Advisory Board, Centre for Policy Studies

President, Politics Association Vice President, Political Studies Association of the UK Member of Council, Hansard Society for Parliamentary Government Editor, Journal of Legislative Studies (unremunerated but published by commercial publisher) Council Member, Constitution Unit

Member, Study of Parliament Group

Lord Plant of Highfield

Professor of Jurisprudence, King's College, University of London

Emily Thornberry MP

Non-practising member of the chambers of Mike Mansfield QC

Husband is a Deputy High Court Judge

Lord Tyler

General political advice to Harcourt Public Affairs Ltd (15 Theed Street, London SE1 8ST) - no contact with or advice to clients - unremunerated, but provision of press-cuttings service

A director of Make Votes Count (unpaid)

Mr Andrew Tyrie MP

A former Special Adviser

Lord Williamson of Horton

A former civil servant.

Full lists of Members' interests are recorded in the Commons Register of Members' Interest and the Lords Register of Interests

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 31 July 2008