Joint Committee On Human Rights Eighth Report

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership
Lord Dubs

Lord Fraser of Carmyllie

Lord Lester of Herne Hill

Lord Morris of Handsworth OJ

The Earl of Onslow

Baroness Stern

John Austin MP (Labour, Erith & Thamesmead)

Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)

Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman)

Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)

Virendra Sharma MP (Labour, Ealing, Southall)

Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Reports and evidence of the Joint Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

Current Staff

The current staff of the Committee are: Mark Egan (Commons Clerk), Bill Sinton (Lords Clerk), Murray Hunt (Legal Adviser), Angela Patrick and Joanne Sawyer (Committee Specialists), Jackie Recardo (Committee Assistant), Karen Barrett (Committee Secretary) and Jacqueline Baker (Senior Office Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2467; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 6 February 2008